DATA SCIENCE AND ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE

Our data science team is ready to help you with your problems, no matter how complex they might seem. We apply our know-how to a large variety of contexts, from computer vision for predictive maintenance to timeseries prediction and classification for facility management to causal inference for identifying failure sources.

We are always on top of the state-of-the-art machine learning techniques, and follow the most important conferences of the field, like ICML, ICLR and NeurIPS. This means that we do not only apply machine learning models as a black box, but we do not hesitate to adapt them to your needs and deliver customized solutions and Artificial Intelligence (AI).

Our lean way of applying data science ensures that your costs will be minimal regardless of the size of the project. We work on the cloud, but also on premises, so if you do not have a data science infrastructure, we can help you with that.

Data Science 

 
Computer Vision

Computer vision is one of the machine learning fields that evolved the most in the last few years, thanks to new advances in optimization. At the same time, lower hardware costs and higher computational power (using GPUs) has enabled problems that were unimaginable a few years ago to be solved in seconds today.

Using deep learning models, like convolutional neural networks (CNNs), we can solve problems like image segmentation, object recognition or object detection. The analysis can be thus in low level in the pixel size, or on a high level on object or image size.

By using GPU computing on the cloud, we minimize costs and maximize computation speed. We work with open source software, so you do not have to worry about expensive licensing running costs.

Timeseries Analysis

Deep learning is not only used for imaging. Recurrent neural networks (RNNs, LSTMs, GRUs, …) have changed the way we analyze timeseries today. We no longer speak about frequency analysis, but about pattern recognition, classification, and prediction.

With hundreds of billions of sensors in the world, timeseries data is huge today. In LeanBI we have worked in various predictive maintenance and analytics projects, with different types of timeseries. Vibration, voltage or rotation speed readings, anything that can be measured periodically can help detect and identify problems early, or even predict future system behavior.

Anomaly Detection

When we are searching for failures, it is often the case that we do not have many previous examples (labels). Then, classification techniques cannot be applied, as we do not have enough data to model all problematic cases.

Anomaly detection, luckily, does not need labels: it is unsupervised. By modeling what is considered “normal behavior”, we can classify anything different as an anomaly.

Anomaly detection is often used in predictive maintenance, but also in any scenario where we do not know what to expect to go wrong. In LeanBI, we have applied our expertise in anomaly detection in all types of data, whether it is visual, timeseries, or structured features.

Probabilistic Modelling

Two questions that we often hear from our clients are “how can we use our domain know-how to make the model smarter?” and “how are we going to get so much data needed by deep-learning?”

Probabilistic (Bayesian) modeling hits two birds with one stone: (1) it can incorporate domain knowledge, and therefore (2) it needs less data. Another advantage of Bayesian models is that they quantify uncertainty: when we get an answer, we also know how much we can trust it.

We can apply probabilistic modeling to most machine learning setups: classification or prediction, for image or timeseries data, and even combine them with deep learning. We can also use them for causal inference: we are searching what caused a result: “which of all potential factors was responsible for the machine’s damage?”.

In LeanBI we always strive to use the field experts know-how as much as possible in our models. Probabilistic modeling is often the right tool for this, for example using physical modeling with probability distributions to explain indoor air quality, or to quantify the probability of each potential failure in predictive maintenance.

DATA SCIENCE ET INTELLIGENCE ARTIFICIELLE

Notre équipe scientifique est prête à vous aider à résoudre vos problèmes, aussi complexes qu’ils puissent paraître. Nous appliquons notre savoir-faire à une grande variété de contextes, la maintenance prédictive prédictive assistée par la reconnaissance automatique d’image, à la classification de données temporelles, en passant à l’analyse de défaillance par interférence causale.

Nous sommes toujours à la pointe des techniques de Machine Learning. Nous suivons les conférences les plus importantes du domaine, comme l’ICML, la ICLR et la NeurIPS. Cela signifie que nous n’appliquons pas seulement les modèles de Machine Learning comme une boîte noire, mais que nous n’hésitons pas à les adapter à vos besoins et à vous proposer des solutions personnalisées et incluant de l’intelligence artificielle (IA).

Notre méthode d’Analytics vous garantit des coûts minimaux quelle que soit la taille du projet. Nous travaillons dans le cloud ou en local. Si vous ne disposez pas d’une infrastructure Analytics, nous pouvons vous aider sans problème.

Data Science 

 
Computer Vision

La reconnaissance d’image est l’un des domaines du Machine Learning machine qui a le plus évolué ces dernières années. Parallèlement, la diminution du coût du matériel et l’augmentation de la puissance de calcul (grâce aux GPU) ont permis de résoudre en quelques secondes des problèmes ce qui étaient inimaginables il y a encore quelques années.

En utilisant des modèles de Deep Learning, comme les réseaux neuronaux convolutifs (CNN), nous pouvons résoudre des problèmes tels que la segmentation des images, la reconnaissance ou la détection d’objets. L’analyse peut donc se faire à bas niveau sur la taille du pixel, ou à haut niveau sur la taille de l’objet ou de l’image.

En utilisant le calcul GPU dans cloud, nous minimisons les coûts et maximisons la vitesse de calcul. Nous travaillons avec des logiciels open source. Vous n’avez donc pas à vous soucier des coûts d’exploitation élevés liés aux licences.

Timeseries Analysis

Le Deep Learning n’est pas seulement utilisé pour l’imagerie. Les réseaux neuronaux récurrents (RNN, LSTM, GRU, …) ont changé la façon d’analyser les données temporelles aujourd’hui. Nous ne parlons plus d’analyse fréquentielle, mais de reconnaissance de d’échantillon, de classification et de prédiction.

Avec des centaines de milliards de capteurs dans le monde, les données temporelles sont aujourd’hui énormes. Dans le cadre de LeanBI, nous avons travaillé sur divers projets de maintenance prédictive et d’analyse, avec différents types de données. Les mesures de vibrations, de tension ou de vitesse de rotation, tout ce qui peut être mesuré périodiquement peut aider à détecter et à identifier les problèmes à un stade précoce, ou même à prédire le comportement futur du système.

Anomaly Detection

Quand nous recherchons des défaillances, il arrive souvent que nous n’ayons pas beaucoup de données contenant les modes de défaillance. Les techniques de classification ne peuvent alors pas être appliquées.

La détection des anomalies non supervisée permet de modéliser un « comportement normal » et de classifier tout ce qui est différent de cette situation.

La détection des anomalies est souvent utilisée dans le cadre de la maintenance prédictive, mais aussi dans tout scénario où les problèmes sont indéterminés. Nous appliquons notre expertise en matière de détection d’anomalies à tous les types de données, qu’elles soient visuelles, temporelles ou structurées.

Probabilistic Modelling

Nos clients nous posent souvent deux questions : « comment pouvons-nous utiliser notre savoir-faire dans notre domaine pour rendre le modèle plus intelligent » et « comment allons-nous obtenir autant de données grâce au Deep Learning ? »

Les modèles probabiliste bayésien font d’une pierre deux coups : (1) ils peuvent intégrer la connaissance du domaine, et donc (2) nécessitent moins de données. Un autre avantage des modèles bayésiens est qu’ils quantifient l’incertitude : lorsque nous obtenons une réponse, nous savons également dans quelle mesure nous pouvons lui faire confiance.

Nous pouvons appliquer les modèles bayésiens à la plupart des configurations de Machine Learning : classification ou prédiction, pour du traitement d’image ou pour des données temporelles, et même les combiner avec le Deep Learning. Nous pouvons également les utiliser pour l’inférence causale : nous recherchons ce qui a causé un résultat : « lequel de tous les facteurs potentiels est responsable des dommages causés à la machine ? ».

Chez LeanBI, nous nous efforçons toujours d’utiliser le plus possible le savoir-faire des experts de terrain dans nos modèles. La modélisation probabiliste bayésienne est souvent l’outil adéquat pour cela, par exemple en utilisant la modélisation physique avec des distributions de probabilité pour expliquer la qualité de l’air intérieur, ou pour quantifier la probabilité de chaque défaillance potentielle dans la maintenance prédictive.