DATA SCIENCE AND ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE

Our data science team is ready to help you with your problems, no matter how complex they might seem. We apply our know-how to a large variety of contexts, from computer vision for predictive maintenance to timeseries prediction and classification for facility management to causal inference for identifying failure sources.

We are always on top of the state-of-the-art machine learning techniques, and follow the most important conferences of the field, like ICML, ICLR and NeurIPS. This means that we do not only apply machine learning models as a black box, but we do not hesitate to adapt them to your needs and deliver customized solutions and Artificial Intelligence (AI).

Our lean way of applying data science ensures that your costs will be minimal regardless of the size of the project. We work on the cloud, but also on premises, so if you do not have a data science infrastructure, we can help you with that.

Data Science 

 
Computer Vision

Computer vision is one of the machine learning fields that evolved the most in the last few years, thanks to new advances in optimization. At the same time, lower hardware costs and higher computational power (using GPUs) has enabled problems that were unimaginable a few years ago to be solved in seconds today.

Using deep learning models, like convolutional neural networks (CNNs), we can solve problems like image segmentation, object recognition or object detection. The analysis can be thus in low level in the pixel size, or on a high level on object or image size.

By using GPU computing on the cloud, we minimize costs and maximize computation speed. We work with open source software, so you do not have to worry about expensive licensing running costs.

Timeseries Analysis

Deep learning is not only used for imaging. Recurrent neural networks (RNNs, LSTMs, GRUs, …) have changed the way we analyze timeseries today. We no longer speak about frequency analysis, but about pattern recognition, classification, and prediction.

With hundreds of billions of sensors in the world, timeseries data is huge today. In LeanBI we have worked in various predictive maintenance and analytics projects, with different types of timeseries. Vibration, voltage or rotation speed readings, anything that can be measured periodically can help detect and identify problems early, or even predict future system behavior.

Anomaly Detection

When we are searching for failures, it is often the case that we do not have many previous examples (labels). Then, classification techniques cannot be applied, as we do not have enough data to model all problematic cases.

Anomaly detection, luckily, does not need labels: it is unsupervised. By modeling what is considered “normal behavior”, we can classify anything different as an anomaly.

Anomaly detection is often used in predictive maintenance, but also in any scenario where we do not know what to expect to go wrong. In LeanBI, we have applied our expertise in anomaly detection in all types of data, whether it is visual, timeseries, or structured features.

Probabilistic Modelling

Two questions that we often hear from our clients are “how can we use our domain know-how to make the model smarter?” and “how are we going to get so much data needed by deep-learning?”

Probabilistic (Bayesian) modeling hits two birds with one stone: (1) it can incorporate domain knowledge, and therefore (2) it needs less data. Another advantage of Bayesian models is that they quantify uncertainty: when we get an answer, we also know how much we can trust it.

We can apply probabilistic modeling to most machine learning setups: classification or prediction, for image or timeseries data, and even combine them with deep learning. We can also use them for causal inference: we are searching what caused a result: “which of all potential factors was responsible for the machine’s damage?”.

In LeanBI we always strive to use the field experts know-how as much as possible in our models. Probabilistic modeling is often the right tool for this, for example using physical modeling with probability distributions to explain indoor air quality, or to quantify the probability of each potential failure in predictive maintenance.

DATA SCIENCE und ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE

Unser Data Science Team ist bereit, Ihnen bei Ihren Problemen zu helfen, ganz gleich wie komplex diese sind. Wir wenden unser Know-how auf viele Kontexte an, von der Computer Vision für die vorausschauende Wartung über die Zeitreihenvorhersage und Klassifizierung für das Facility Management bis hin zur kausalen Inferenz zur Identifizierung von Fehlerquellen.

Wir sind immer auf dem neuesten Stand der Technik des Maschinellen Lernens und verfolgen die wichtigsten Konferenzen auf diesem Gebiet, wie ICML, ICLR und NeurIPS.

Das bedeutet, dass wir die Modelle des Machine Learning nicht nur als Black Box anwenden, sondern wir passen diese an Ihre Bedürfnisse an und liefern maßgeschneiderte Artificial Intelligence Lösungen (AI).

Unsere schlanke Anwendung von Data Science stellt sicher, dass Ihre Kosten unabhängig von der Größe des Projekts minimal bleiben. Wir arbeiten in der Cloud und vor Ort. Kein Problem, wenn Sie keine Data Science Infrastruktur haben.

Data Science 

 
Computer Vision

Die Bildverarbeitung mit Deep Learning (Computer Vision) ist eines der Gebiete des Machine Learning, das sich in den letzten Jahren dank neuer Optimierungsfortschritte am stärksten entwickelt hat. Gleichzeitig lassen sich dank geringerer Hardwarekosten und höherer Rechenleistung (unter Verwendung von GPUs) Probleme, die vor einigen Jahren noch unvorstellbar waren, heute in Sekundenschnelle lösen.

Mit Deep Learning, wie z.B. Convolutional Neural Networks (CNNs), können wir Probleme wie Bildsegmentierung, Objekterkennung oder Objektdetektion effizient umsetzen.

Durch den Einsatz von GPU-Computing in der Cloud minimieren wir die Kosten und maximieren die Berechnungsgeschwindigkeit. Wir arbeiten mit Open-Source-Software, sodass Sie sich nicht um teure Lizenzkosten zu kümmern brauchen.

Timeseries Analysis

Deep Learning wird nicht nur für die Bildverarbeitung verwendet. Reoccuring Neural Networks (RNNs, LSTMs, GRUs, …) haben die Art und Weise, wie wir heute Zeitreihen analysieren, verändert. Wir sprechen nicht mehr von Frequenzanalyse, sondern von Mustererkennung, Klassifikation und Vorhersage.

Mit hunderten Milliarden Sensoren in der Welt sind Zeitreihendaten heute riesig. Die LeanBI hat in verschiedenen Projekten zur vorausschauenden Wartung mit verschiedenen Arten von Zeitreihen gearbeitet. Kombinierte Zeitreihen-Analysen (Timeseries Analysis) an Parametern wie Schwingungen, Spannungen, Ströme, Drehzahl und Temperatur können helfen, Probleme frühzeitig zu erkennen und zukünftiges Systemverhalten vorherzusagen.

Anomaly Detection

Wenn wir auf der Suche nach Misserfolgen sind, ist es oft der Fall, dass wir nicht viele Fehlerdaten (Labels) haben. Dann können Klassifizierungstechniken nicht angewandt werden, da wir die Modelle nicht genügend trainieren können.

Die Anomalie-Erkennung braucht keine Fehlerdaten, das Lernen erfolgt unüberwacht (unsupervised). Durch die Modellierung dessen, was als “normales Verhalten” gilt, können wir alles andere als Anomalie klassifizieren.

Die Anomalie-Erkennung wird häufig bei der vorausschauenden Wartung eingesetzt, aber auch in jedem anderen Szenario, bei dem wir nicht wissen, was schief gehen könnte. Bei LeanBI haben wir unser Fachwissen in der Anomalie-Erkennung für allen Arten von Daten angewandt, unabhängig davon, ob es sich um visuelle Daten, Zeitreihen oder strukturierte Merkmale handelt.

Probabilistic Modelling

Zwei Fragen, die wir oft von unseren Kunden hören, sind: “Wie können wir unser Domänen-Know-how nutzen, um das Modell intelligenter zu machen” und “Wie werden wir an so viele Daten kommen, die für das Deep Learning benötigt werden?

Die probabilistische (Bayes’sche) Modellierung schlägt zwei Fliegen mit einer Klappe: Durch den Einbezug von Domänenwissen benötigt sie wenig Trainingsdaten. Und diese Modellierung kann Unsicherheiten quantifizieren. Damit wissen die Anwender, wie gut sie dem Resultat vertrauen können.

Wir können die probabilistische Modellierung auf die meisten Fälle des maschinellen Lernens anwenden: Klassifizierung oder Vorhersage, für Bild- oder Zeitreihendaten, und sie sogar mit Deep Learning kombinieren. Sie lässt sich auch für causal inference verwenden, wir suchen dann nach der Ursache von einem Ergebnis und fragen zum Beispiel: “Welcher von allen möglichen Faktoren war für den Schaden an der Maschine verantwortlich?”.

Bei LeanBI sind wir stets bestrebt, das Know-how der Experten vor Ort so weit wie möglich in unseren Modellen zu nutzen. Die probabilistische Modellierung ist dafür oft das richtige Werkzeug, z.B. bei der physikalischen Modellierung der Raumluftqualität oder zur Quantifizierung der Wahrscheinlichkeit jedes potenziellen Ausfalls bei der vorausschauenden Instandhaltung.